Spreading The Gory Gospel: An Interview With Barb Breese

The horror genre doesn’t just have its own fanbase, it has it’s own universe. From indie filmmakers and fanatic fans to rabid bloggers and everything in between, horror is alive and kicking as hard as ever these days!

In order for the gospel of gore to continue to be spread, people need to step up and not only sing from the mountain tops the genius of Carpenter, Barker and Lovecraft, but also teach their children to love these modern day masterpieces.

Thanks to the magic of podcasts, anyone can have their voice heard regarding their love of horror. As important as the host is to these shows, the folks behind the mics are just as pivotal to the show’s success and professionalism.

Barb Breese is a proud mother of two future horror fanatics and when she isn’t posting fanastic links on her Facebook page, she’s assisting Rob Delamorte with his booming podcast, ‘Delamorte’s Dungeon Of Deadly Delights’.

 

Presented for your consideration, I bring you an interview with horror fiend Barb Breese.

 

 

 

1. How did you get involved in Delamorte’s Dungeon On Deadly Delights? 

I’d been a listener of Rob Delamorte’s podcast and really liked what I heard.  I thought Rob was such a fun personality and had such great guests on the show.   When I’d heard that his podcast had been picked up for a national broadcast on Jackalope Radio, I threw my name into the running and lucked out on being one of the chosen.

 

2. What role do you play in this project/podcast? 

 Good question.  I think I’m the one who loses command of the English language during the show.  LOL   Seriously, I’m just one of the gang on the show.  I don’t think I have a title or a role per se.  I’m just a gal who is a fan of the genre and of the guests we have on the show.

 

3. Take us through a regular episode. How long does it take to put it all together?   

Rob Delamorte (the host and creator of the show) is usually responsible for booking the celebrities, so once the Terror Team (myself, Jessica Dwyer and Erik Smith) is informed of who’s coming on, we each do independent “research” to find things to ask the guest during the show.  What a lot of listeners of the show don’t know is that it’s done through Skype, so we’re not face-to-face with each other or with the guest.  So, yeah, prior to the show we have a powwow to briefly discuss the night’s guest and what we can or cannot talk about, etc.  We pre-tape the hour long show every Wednesday night, so it can be cleaned up and edited for the Thursday night broadcast.  Our producers, Todd Sheets and Amanda Payton, are fantastic and do such a great job!

 

4. Who are a few really memorable guests you’ve had on? 

We’ve had some really incredible people on.  They all stand out to me, but because this is a WiH piece, I’m going to with: Adrienne King, Heather Langenkamp, Linnea Quigley and Ashley Laurence. These women are just amazing, and to have had the opportunity to speak with them is just something very special.

 

 

5. Were you a big horror fan growing up? What was the first horror movie you remember seeing? 

Absolutely.  My parents raised me on horror.  My father, in particular, is the driving force behind my love and appreciation of the genre.  The first movie I remember seeing was actually a double feature at the drive-in consisting of, “The Burning” and “The Amityville Horror”.   However, “The Exorcist” is another one I saw at a young age and it definitely warped me. 

 

 

6. What is your favorite horror franchise? 

I love them all, but I have to remain loyal to my boy, Jason Voorhees!

 

 

7. What are your thoughts on the remake craze Hollywood horror is going through these days? 

Ugh.  You know, I really don’t support this new trend because I’m loyal to the original films.   However, “Let Me In” was actually pretty good, so that’s one exception.  As for the others, have you seen what they’ve done to “The Howling” and poor Pinhead?  It’s a damn shame.  Leave the classics alone, Hollywood!!

 

8. Who are your favorite women in horror?  

I adore Jessica Lange on ‘American Horror Story’.  She’s just amazing. I have always been a fan of Janet Leigh, and of Jamie Lee Curtis.  I have many others, but these women are at the top of my list.

 

9. Be honest. You’re the coolest mom on the block, aren’t you? 

  Of course! 

 

10. My mother subjected me and my 4 year old sister to ‘The Exorcist’ when I was 7. Do you let your little ones watch scary movies? 

Since I was exposed to horror at a young age, I’m okay with it as long as I watch with them and explain to them that it’s all make-believe.  My kids aren’t really into the scary stuff all too much, though.  My daughter, who’s 7, watches the old school Scooby-Doo (minus Scrappy…he’s not allowed in this house) cartoons and ‘Buffy the Vampire Slayer’ every now and then, but that’s about the extent of her horror watching.  My 4 1/2 year old son is still into Nick Jr. and has no interest in watching anything but “Go, Diego, Go!” at this point. 

 

 

11. As a woman who loves horror, where do you think women stand in the industry today?  

I think women aren’t afraid to show that they can kick as much ass as the guys.  I’m so happy and excited to see so many women directors and writers and producers doing their own thing and making their presence known in the genre.

 

 

12. If you could meet one horror icon, alive or dead, who would it be and why?   

Alfred Hitchcock.  I would just love to sit and talk with him because he has always been one of my favorite people on this earth.  He’s just brilliant.

 

 

13. What is the scariest movie you’ve ever seen?   

 Hmmm… You know, I’m going with “The Strangers”.   I think things that can really happen are the most frightening.

 

14. Finally, back to the Dungeon for a second, what can you tell us about upcoming shows? Got any big guests or extra special fun coming up? 

You’ll just have to tune in to find out!  Jackaloperadio.com….every Saturday night at 11pm EST/8 pm PST and the episodes are archived on the Jackaloperadio site for your listening pleasure. 

I’d also like to take a second and thank everyone who is a listener of the show.  We do what we do for all of our fellow horror lovers and appreciate the support you all have showed us!!   Thank you, again…so much!

 

 Barb is one of the sweetest, coolest and funniest ladies I’ve had the privilege of chatting with throughout this Women In Horror interview process. I thank her sincerely for all her time and hilarious Facebook picture posts!

 

About Justin Hamelin

I am a freelance writer, mostly of horror and everything macabre. As a die hard fan of the genre with a particularly deep affinity for Women In Horror, I write film reviews, short stories, screenplays and conduct as many interviews as I can with the fantastic people who make the horror genre my absolute favorite!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spreading The Gory Gospel: An Interview With Barb Breese

  1. Chris theFish Engels says:

    Awesome Barb ! I had no idea you were “SOO” into it.

  2. Cedric Bruin says:

    Thanks for spending the time to go over this, I feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If possible, as you gain more knowledge, would you mind updating your blog with more information? It is quite helpful for me. Big thumbs up for this blog article!

  3. Hi Cedric- thanks for the support!
    I look forward to spreading the word of Women In Horror far and wide! If there is any topic in particular you’d like me to chat about, please feel free to toss me a line!

  4. Pingback: All Dressed Up And Ready To Go: A WiH Interview With Nez Wilburn. | Women In Horror: A Mangled Matters Blog

Leave a Reply

