A WiH interview with writer and horror fanatic Kayleigh Frost

I first got in touch with Kayleigh Frost through the wonderful cyber-world known as Facebook. I can’t pinpoint exactly when we started talking, nor can I recall a specific conversation that forged our friendship, but the result thus far has been awesome.

As a writer and quite possibly the most driven blossoming Woman In Horror I’ve ever had the pleasure of talking with, Kayleigh is wise beyond her years. She takes a very professional approach to a career that is still seeing its foundation being built.

She is a fascinating woman who has shown an awesome knack for meshing history with horror, as you will all soon be able to see through her collection of books revolving around Anne Boleyn and the lycan lifestyle.

Kayleigh comes from a horror background of the great films from yesteryear, back when directors actually cared about what they were putting on the screen, not just their bank accounts. So it should come to no surprise that Kayleigh possesses the passion and determination to finish whatever she has started, much like the great horror minds before her.
Kayleigh has over sixty- count ’em, SIXTY- writing projects in different stages of completion.

As of press time, Kayleigh and I are currently collaborating on my next film project. I will be sharing that pitch with you all in the very near future!

Ms. Frost is on the fast track to stardom people, and I’ve had the chance to get to know her enough to proudly call her my friend.

I present to you my interview with the awesome Kayleigh Frost.

1. What got you hooked on the horror genre?

My parents. They were very laid back individuals and figured I would be exposed to scary movies eventually so they let me watch whatever they were watching at the time. One of my earliest memories is one of Demi Moore getting stabbed to death in Tales From The Crypt and I don’t remember being scared at all. My father was into John Carpenter movies so I remember watching They Live (I also remember I used to have a crush on Roddy Piper) , Halloween, Escape from New York and LA, The Thing, Starman, Big Trouble in Little China, Vampires, and Ghosts of Mars. Blood and guts don’t seem to really effect me in a bad way. I enjoy watching it because the suspense gets your heart pumping and I love seeing a movie before my friends then going back with them so that they look to me for answers and I’ll tell them it’ll be okay even though it won’t.

2. As a writer and filmmaker, what kind of horror do you prefer: in your face terror or what’s behind the closed door paranoia?

I enjoy both but I have to go with what’s behind the closed door. That is the most terrifying because it can be anything from a psycho in a mask with a kitchen knife or some horrible parasite  creature from outer space ready to suck your face off. It can be anything, that’s what makes it so crazy- the fact you don’t know. The tension those movies create is way more terrifying than the creatures themselves and if you can scare somebody with nothing I think you’ve done your job.

3. Who are some of your role models in the industry?

Eli Roth is one. I remember seeing Hostel in theaters and thinking, “God yes! Horror is back.” It had been a real let down over the years and he beefed it up with Hostel. What I really loved about that film was that you follow one character thinking he’s the hero, he’s the one who is going to make it, he’s the one you’ll be with till the end or the movie but then Eli kills him. And you’re like “Oh shit!”- anything can happen now, everyone can die, you can’t bet on anyone.

Another would of course be John Carpenter, he molded my childhood I grew up with his movies and I probably wouldn’t be who I was today without him. It’s his fault I used to think I could see Aliens with sunglasses on as a kid. I had a pair of black sunglasses like Roddy in the movie I would always wear trying to find them.

Wes Craven is also another with his A Nightmare on Elm Street movies. Robert England will always be Freddy in my heart and Wes was also where I had my first encounter with the hotness of Johnny Depp, the scene where he gets sucked into the bed and all that blood just starts spewing up was so intense. Having “Don’t Fear the Reaper” by Blue Oyster Cult was a really nice touch. The way Wes uses music in his movies is great- he did that in Last House on the Left too. Every time I think about that movie, “And The Road Leads To Nowhere” plays in my head. David Hess had a great voice and it was so different from his character in the movie, I was surprised when I learned he did the music. RIP.

Lastly I have to mention George A. Romero and his zombie movies. They weren’t just stories about a bunch of decomposing dead guys, they had a message about society, too, and he would also let minorities and females actually kick butt. That doesn’t happen often enough but that’s what makes Romero’s movies stand out that much better.

4. Who is your favorite female horror character of all time?

I’m going with Annie Wilkes from Misery on this one. There are other great ones, of course, but Annie is a bad ass- she didn’t need superpowers or any real weapons
to speak of to make her creepy. She was just an obsessive fan. That’s what makes her so much more scary, because someone like Annie could exist and does exist they’re just waiting for their chance and then you’re screwed.

5. What projects are you currently working on?

 I have over 60 at last count but the only one I have completed is FanGirl, which is about an obsessive stalker fangirl who is after Eli Roth. A friend suggested to me that I write it after he accused me of being Eli Roth’s stalker even though I’m in Vegas and he’s in LA. I kinda think you have to be right on their ass, watching them everyday, to be a real stalker and I don’t have any real plans to go off and do that. I basically wrote it to say “if I was Eli Roth’s stalker this is what I would do” but it is far out there and in no way could ever be really possible. It’s not a how-to guide, its just me being silly.

I’m also close to finishing my first novel, “Anne Boleyn: Werewolf”. Which is exactly what it sounds like. Don’t expect any Twilight-type wolves in here. These guys are vicious killers. There is a lot of sex blood and violence in this one, along with a forbidden unrequited love mixed in because I think you need all of that to make a story really good.

 

This is freakin' awesome!!!!! Kayleigh opening up, on the right.

6. What would you like to accomplish with your blossoming career in horror?

I would like to have a message with my horror like George A. Romero does. It’s great to scare people and entertain them, but if you also leave them thinking at the end or with a questioning of “could this actually happen?” and “maybe I should clean up my act so it doesn’t”, that’s pretty cool if you can do all that with a movie.

7. Why do you think Hollywood horror has fallen so dramatically over the last 10-20 years?

Sequels. Don’t get me wrong the well thought out ones like Friday the 13th Part 2, Evil Dead 2, Aliens, Hostel Part 2, Hellraiser 2 and Silence of the Lambs are awesome, but sometimes sequels fall short and they just damage the franchise. People want something new and exciting, and if its just the same guy using the same tools he’s been using for the past 10 years killing in the same ways it gets boring. I want the killer to grow, to learn from his mistakes and come back stronger and deadlier. Let him or her get new tools, have new strategies so you don’t know what’s coming- like in Friday the 13th, how do you deal with Jason’s mom and now you’re gonna have to deal with Jason? That was cool because you don’t know what he will do.   

8. What one scary movie needs a sequel, in your opinion?

I’d have to go with They Live. A sequel or a reboot on this one could be nice, but a well planned thought out one, not a rushed one. The ending was left pretty open after the big reveal and I’d like to see what happens next. Will there be a war? What happens to the humans now that aliens aren’t doing everything for them? Were we better off?

You will be hearing alot from Kayleigh as this career takes off in a big way! It was a pleasure chatting with her for this interview and I can’t wait to tell the world about our project!

Want a quick peek into the mind of Kayleigh? Read up on a few of her current writing projects:

  • Henry Percy: Time Traveling Werewolf : The 6th Earl of Northumberland is brought back from the dead to avenge past murder victims by slaying their killers on the full moon to make them look like animal attacks

  • Anne Boleyn: Werewolf : The tragic story of Anne Boleyn, second wife of King Henry VIII, with a werewolf twist.

  • The Green Hunter : A high school student has an encounter with Loki, the God of mischief.

  • This Side of Paradise : Two angels unhappy in their work are cast down to Earth and forced to live as humans.

  • Good Boy : A young woman, unlucky in love,  wakes up one morning to find her dog has turned into a human.

 

 

 

 

 

 

..

About Justin Hamelin

I am a freelance writer, mostly of horror and everything macabre. As a die hard fan of the genre with a particularly deep affinity for Women In Horror, I write film reviews, short stories, screenplays and conduct as many interviews as I can with the fantastic people who make the horror genre my absolute favorite!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A WiH interview with writer and horror fanatic Kayleigh Frost

  1. LeeAnne Krusemark says:

    Great insight! Can’t wait to read all of them! 🙂

  2. Freempg says:

    With all the wild and crazy monsters swirling around in Kayliegh’s brain, one thing stands out for certain if you have a chance to meet her. She is the sweetest girl in the world.

Leave a Reply

