Karen Zombora: A Model Horror Citizen.

Very seldom will you find a Woman In Horror these days who do just one thing- actresses usually also write or model, directors usually have done everything under the sun, from editing to set designs, and so on. These ladies wear a lot of hats, usually simultaneously. Which is one major reason why I love these women so much- nothing is ever given to them, they work for everything they get and they can go to sleep at night knowing they’ve earned it all. These ladies are in motion every hour of every day, and tend to stay in motion. Think of it as Newton’s Law Of Horror.

Tonight’s Woman In Horror spotlight lands on a young woman who is marching to the beat of her own drum, doing what she loves most- basking in the dank glow of the horror world. As a model, Karen Zombora has drawn quite a fan base thanks to her horror/beauty mash-ups. Her modeling career began in 2010 and her acting career began in 2011. The lifelong horror fanatic has proudly lived up to her nickname “Monster Girl”. Zombora hit the ground running and screaming, starring in four horror films last year. With a busy 2012 already rolling, Zombora is also the brainchild behind her own reality show, ‘Blood, Sweat and Fears: Life As A Monster Girl’, which will start filming season 3 in the very near future. There is no rest for the wicked.

Based out of Dallas, Texas, Zombora has been featured in countless websites, magazines, music videos and even has some appearances on a few album and book covers. If you don’t know her face yet, it won’t be long before you do!

Recently, I had the chance to chat with Ms. Zombora.

1. What led you to the horror genre as an actress and model?

It started at a young age. When I was three years old, my dad let me watch
‘A Nightmare on Elm Street’. To his surprise, I ended up LOVING it. So I was
the little girl in cute pig tails, that asked to watch Freddy everyday,
instead of Mickey Mouse. I’ve been a monster-lovin, horror movie buff ever
since. I had no idea my career path was going to go in the direction it
did. But, I am very thankful and glad it did. I consider myself extremely
lucky to be able to do things that I love and am passionate about. I
started off modeling first, about two years ago. Jim Rose contacted me, asking
me if I would be interested in assisting him on stage when he toured in
Dallas, Texas at the Musink Tattoo Convention in 2010. Photographers started
to book me for shoots after that. They would always ask me what I wanted to
shoot. Being the monster girl that I am, I obviously wanted a monster in
my pics with me! Since then, I got the nickname “Monster Girl” from all
my fans, and my career in horror modeling/ acting has snow balled from
there.

2. What are 5 horror movies you suggest EVERYONE see?

Resident Evil

Dawn of the Dead (Remake)

The Devils Rejects

House of 1000 Corpses

30 Days of Night

3. As an actress, what project have you enjoyed working on most thus far?

Just stepping foot into the film industry this past year… It already has
brought me so many film projects, I’ve had the privilege of working beside
some amazing, talented directors, actors, and actresses. It’s great being
able to be on set with so much talent, and it’s even better when you see
that everyone there has the same passion for their job as you do.

4. As a model, what project has been the most fun to shoot?

I’ve always created my own photo shoot concepts for my modeling pictures.
With that being said, you may notice a trend I created for myself. I
usually include a monster in my pictures somehow. Hence, how I got the
nickname of “Monster Girl”. I’ve been able to re-create my versions of
classic monsters, including The Creature of the Black Lagoon, and I’ve also been
able to create concepts I’ve had brewing in my head for a while. It’s been
a great artistic release for me, and seeing my fans appreciate my work at
the end of the day is so rewarding.

5. Do you have any writing or directing aspirations?

I do see myself stepping into that direction. That is one reason I’m taking a short break from my weekly reality show ‘Blood, Sweat, and Fears: Life as a Monster Girl’. Season 3 will be back this Fall. I’ve been writing a lot of my thoughts down in between filming this past month. I’ve met a few writers that have liked my ideas and want to write together in the near future. I’m really looking forward to writing with John Gard, from Houston’s Deadbeat Comedy Club. I’m a huge fan of his writing style/and acting. Like I do in my modeling mixing the sex appeal, and horror, I definitely want to add the comedic twist on top of that in my writing style. So, I do plan to direct something in the very near future.

I am also working on a ghost hunting reality show that I will be directing, and producing. I’ll be putting out a casting call /auditions for attractive females who have interest in ghost hunting, and the paranormal. So be on the look out for that!

6. Who are some of your women in horror heroes?

Growing up, I would have to say… Kristy Swanson as Buffy the Vampire
Slayer (the movie), and Sara Michelle Gellar in Buffy the Vampire
Slayer, the television series. Now, it would me Sherry Moon Zombie, and Mila Jovovich!

7. If you could be a part of one horror franchise, which would it be?

Sign me up for the Kreuger franchise please!

8. What projects are you currently working on?

‘Scream Queen Campfire’, ‘Dracula’s War’, ‘The Good Friend’, ‘The Bone Orchard’, and a few more I’ll be able to mention soon. Filming season 3 for my reality show will start in a week, and I will be directing my first short/sketch within a month or so.

9. Do you have any advice for young women interested in the horror/modeling
industry?

My best advice for anyone trying to get into the horror/modeling
industry, would be to do what makes you happy. I cannot tell you the amount
of times I’ve been told and am told still to this day that I will never
make anything of myself trying to do what I’m doing. I’ve been my own
support system this whole time I’ve been modeling/acting. I’ve had to
develop thick skin, to ignore the negative, jealous people out there that
will try to knock you down. Not everyone understands my passion for horror,
much less me making this into my career. At the end of the day, I know
I’m happy, and thankful my life took this monstrous route. So, to answer
your question in a summed up version…

“Believe in yourself, even if everyone else tells you different!” -Karen
Zombora

Thank you kindly to Karen for her time! To learn more about Monster Girl’s career and future projects, please check out her website!

About Justin Hamelin

I am a freelance writer, mostly of horror and everything macabre. As a die hard fan of the genre with a particularly deep affinity for Women In Horror, I write film reviews, short stories, screenplays and conduct as many interviews as I can with the fantastic people who make the horror genre my absolute favorite!
This entry was posted in horror, independent filmmaking, role-playing, Women In Horror. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

