The Wizard Behind The Curtain: A WiH Interview With Stacy Pippi Hammon.

“My goal is to have the most Thank You credits on my page and delete everything else.”

photo by Jewel Shepard

Stacy Pippi Hammon is a driving force behind the Women In Horror movement, wholeheartedly supporting the Viscera Film Festival and the large number of charitable events the 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization have endorsed.

As an artist herself, Stacy relishes her behind-the-scenes presence. Much like the Viscera organization itself, Stacy is dedicated to sharing the creative talents of others and celebrating Women In Horror for what they create.

Hammon also contributes to the Etheria Film Festival, created by all-around amazing woman in horror Heidi Honeycutt , which showcases the latest and best sci-fi and fantasy films created by women.

Ever busy helping with the organization of 2012’s Kick-Off Carpet Ceremony (which will be at the prestigious Egyptian Theatre in Hollywood on July 7th!), Stacy was gracious enough to take a few minutes from her whirlwind schedule and chat with me about the importance of women in horror recognition as well as her love for the genre.

photo by Wolfgang Meyer

1. You told me you were the wizard behind the curtain. Do you have any interest in directing your own horror film, or adding to your acting credits?

Someone has been stalking my pathetic IMDB.  My goal is to have the most Thank You credits on my page and delete everything else.  Time is money and with very little time I feel that being effective and efficient is extremely important to produce quality work.  I have a couple of projects in mind in the near future which involve writing, directing and producing.  Until there is really anything to report there is not much I can say regarding this. Recently, I assisted on Joe Hollow’s Disciples and a special feature I produced for Devi Sniveley’s Trippin’ is on the two disc DVD that was released by Camp Motion Pictures.

Otherwise, working on the Viscera Film Festival is my main priority.  We held a bone marrow registration drive for City of Hope at the Cella Art Gallery in February. I learned afterwards from City of Hope that they are usually get an average of 10 registrations in a weekend full of campaigning.  Our supporters raised them over 30 registrations…in three hours.  Love the community spirit!

Our big red carpet event is just around the corner.  All my energy is focused on that until it’s over.

2. As an alum of BleedFest, who were some of the amazing talent you had a chance to mingle with at the event?

BleedFest offered a venue for monthly social interaction whilst viewing a variety of shorts by various female genre filmmakers.  The circle of participants closely overlaps those also involved with Viscera.  If future events are planned I will continue to attend and support this event as all opportunities to screen female made films only helps to get visibility to their work.  The Feis sisters are extremely enthusiastic about their vision and I respect that.

3. 15 Till Midnight is one of those indie horror films that is just loaded with up and coming horror talent. What was your experience like working on this film?

 I happened to be in the New York area at the time this was being filmed.  My tattoos were cast for the bar scene, not me.  I always enjoy helping out my friends and spent a short time after this assisting with the production.  

 4. As music supervisor of Trippin’, what all did this job entail?

 This is another example of me just wanting to help out a friend.  Devi Sniveley was in need of original punk songs for the soundtrack.  I have been involved with the Plea for Peace Center, a non-profit organization started by Mike Park of Asian Man Records and managed by Middagh Goodwin, a long time Stockton, CA music promoter.  I worked with Middagh and various indie bands from Sacramento, San Francisco, Seattle and Los Angeles to provide Devi with the right songs for the scenes she still needed music for.

the “mom” side of Stacy, dishing out goodies at the Viscera Bone Marrow Drive event
photo by Nikki Wall

 5. What are some of your favorite horror film scores or soundtracks?

I don’t think there is anyone from my generation that doesn’t know The Lost Boys soundtrack by heart.

6. In your opinion, what makes for a great horror film?

The elements needed for a great horror film are no different than those needed for any type of film.  A strong story, character development and taking the time to tell the story fully and not take short cuts.  I’m also a stickler for sound quality.

7. It seems women are much more in touch with the psychological element of horror, while it seems men prefer to stick to the crimson and chunks. Are you more a fan of ‘in your face’ gore or ‘what’s behind the closed door’ suspense?

I’m not the kind of person that can eat a cheeseburger every day.  My tastes vary with my mood and I enjoy all types of horror. I think a film that combines psychological elements with tons of chunks makes for a well rounded meal.

8. Who are some Women In Horror you admire?

All the women that work their asses off to achieve their vision and dream get my respect.  The WiH movement isn’t about “look at me, I have a vagina so watch my shit” it’s about overcoming the obstacles of traditional paths by carving one of your own.  That’s why it’s very important that the focus of WiHM is on celebrating the accomplishments of women in the genre through charitable acts, not self promotion.        

9. What is an underrated horror film you thoroughly love?

The Mist.  I was really disappointed that the general audience did not receive this better when it was in the theater.  Very few films get a reaction out of me any more and this one left me an emotional wreck. I spent the last ten minutes of the film expecting what was coming and got worked up over how it was going to be played out on the screen. Then I stayed in my seat for ten minutes afterwards bawling like a baby.

                                                         
10. What scares you?
                     
 Complacency.

11. What projects are you currently working on?

This little thing on July 7th at the Egyptian.  I mean BIG THING!  This year’s Viscera Film Festival is definitely the biggest yet.  So many talented women and men are contributing their skills to make this an event worthy of the historic location while keeping the warm, personal touches that make this a community celebration of the artists.  As soon as this is complete, I will be diving into planning for next year’s WiHM charity event, taking a trip out to Boston for the first Etheria Film Festival, then back into the charity event. I’m sure there will be time for other projects here and there but these are the most important ones right now.

with Shannon Lark, John Skipp and Heidi Honeycutt at the Marrow charity event. *
photo by Jessi Tetzloff

I sincerely thank Stacy for taking time out of her hectic schedule to chat. With the Viscera Film event so close, it’s a small wonder she’s even been able to squeeze in time for sleep these days!

* check out John Skipp’s Bizarro Central page for all sorts of weird and macabre fun!

*
*
*

About Justin Hamelin

I am a freelance writer, mostly of horror and everything macabre. As a die hard fan of the genre with a particularly deep affinity for Women In Horror, I write film reviews, short stories, screenplays and conduct as many interviews as I can with the fantastic people who make the horror genre my absolute favorite!
This entry was posted in horror, independent filmmaking, Women In Horror. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Wizard Behind The Curtain: A WiH Interview With Stacy Pippi Hammon.

  1. Debra Lamb says:

    I absolutely adore Stacy, and I loved this interview! Stacy is one of the hardest working women I know (along with Shannon Lark and Heidi Honeycutt) and she deserves all the THANK YOU’s that her IMDB page can hold! I had the honor of making her acquaintance on the set of Joe Hollow’s DISCIPLES, and she instantly made a place for herself in my heart!

  2. Pingback: Stacy Pippi Hammon and Etheria Film Night: an interview – Mangled Matters

Leave a Reply

